Thursday, September 23, 2010

Aaah...! - Unreleased 3rd Single (1984)

Here we have a set of songs that were intended to be released as a single (the band's 3rd), but unfortunately never quite made it there. You can get the 1st single here, and the 2nd here. I should note, this is not an official album art, as there never was one. For me the sound is just about in between the more serious approach of the first single and the playfully pop approach of the second. As with the Input:Output single, the vocal work here is done by Henry Kent, not Kez Stone. Both tracks are pretty slick, hats off once again to the Aaah...! boys. Enjoy!

Track List:

Love Torpedo
Love Toy


Thursday, September 16, 2010

Various Artists - Crispy Nuggets (Vol. 3)

It seems like with every passing day I have less and less time to post on this blog, but I enjoy putting these comps together, perhaps more than you enjoy listening to them, so here's another! A pretty decent spread of mostly unknowns here, with a few familiar faces if you caught volumes 1 & 2. I've posted the Calling Hearts track before, but didn't want it just floating around in space (although that seems appropriate, given its title) so it's getting a home on CN3. Big shouts to Kez Stone and Neale Potts for their contributions here. Two brilliant musicians if I may say so. Don't have much time for info, but I'll do my best to answer any queries in the comments later on. Have a good weekend, all. Enjoy!

Track List:

01 - Aaah...! - Sound Machine
02 - Artistic Control - Walking In Love's Shadow
03 - Chromagain - Ethnicbox
04 - ForĂȘt Obscure - The Sun, The Sea
05 - Standing Ovation - What Meaning
06 - Passing Strangers - Pain & Passion
07 - Marge &The Marvellous - A Distant Dance
08 - Sam Rosenthal - The Return
09 - Leda Atomica - Delirium Tremens
10 - Calling Hearts - Cosmology
11 - Tres - Moving Her Hands
12 - Vox Zema - The Drop
13 - Liquid Eyes - Breath Control (title updated Feb. 26, 2013)
14 - Proximity - My Thoughts Correspond
15 - Tiger Club - Laugh Last


Thursday, September 9, 2010

Jessica Blue - The Dark Of Light (1985)

This one's for the italo-disco fans out there, as it's been a while for the genre to make an appearance on this blog. This is the only Jessica Blue release that I'm aware of -- Now, I could be wrong on this, but... I'm pretty sure there was a law enacted in Italy that restricted italo-disco artists to just one release, at which point it was mandatory for them to disappear into obscurity forever. Well, at least that's what it seems like sometimes.

In any case, this 12" features three takes on essentially the same song, but it's a good'n. You can find a copy of this record through the usual outlets for what I'd consider a reasonable price. Well worth it for a gem such as this. Enjoy!

Track List:

A1 - The Dark Of Light (Club Mix)
B1 - The Dark Of Light (Radio Mix)
B2 - Is Just A Memory (Snow Mix)